CVE-2021-43226: Microsoft Windows Privilege Escalation Vulnerability

Advisory generated from the CVE record, CISA, Exploit Observer and VEDAS: what it is, whether it is exploited, who is affected, and how to fix and detect it.

Generated by VEDAS. Scores as of 2026-11-01 19:19 UTC. Rebuilt every few hours from cve-scores, CISA KEV and vedas-signatures. How this works and its limits.

What it is

Windows Common Log File System Driver Elevation of Privilege Vulnerability

Description quoted from the CVE record (assigned by microsoft, published 2021-12-15).

How it can be exploited

Exploitable with local access with low attack complexity needing low privileges and no user interaction. Impact: confidentiality high, integrity high, availability high. CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H/E:U/RL:O/RC:C

CISA assessment (SSVC): CISA assesses exploitation as active. Automatable: no. Technical impact: total.

On CISA KEV since
2025-10-06
US federal deadline
2025-10-27
Ransomware use
Yes

Public exploit evidence (Exploit Observer)

Also known as: BDU:2022-01303, CNNVD-202112-1166, EUVD-2021-30170, GHSA-98jh-5xvm-p5ph, GHSA-w3v4-69ph-pfjp

VEDAS cluster: VEDAS:BELLAHUMMINGBIRD

Exploit Observer links 1 piece of public exploit code or detection modules that name this CVE or one of its aliases.

Exploit code and modules (1)

Code that names this CVE. A repository can be a working exploit, a scanner, a fake or malware; read it before running anything.

Vulnerability databases and vendor advisories (8)

Catalogue entries, not exploit evidence.

15 more references returned by Exploit Observer did not name this CVE or an alias, so they are left out.

VEDAS data as of 2026-11-01T17:12 UTC; fetched 2026-11-02.

Live scores

EPSS
0.033
some chance of attack soon
VEDAS
0.967
strong exploit evidence
On CISA KEV
Yes, since 2025-10-06
Detection rule
Out of scope (local)
EPSS (chance of attack)
10No cve-scores data 2026-02-22 to 2026-08-08no data0.1Added to CISA KEV 2025-10-06CVE-2021-43226 EPSS over time2025-042026-11-01
VEDAS (exploit evidence)
10No cve-scores data 2026-02-22 to 2026-08-08no data0.9Added to CISA KEV 2025-10-06CVE-2021-43226 VEDAS over time2025-042026-11-01

Thin horizontal line: the “likely” (EPSS 0.10) or “strong” (VEDAS 0.90) threshold. Shaded “no data” areas are periods when cve-scores did not publish. The vertical line is the day CISA added it to its exploited list.

Who is affected

ProductAffectedNot affected
Microsoft Windows 10 Version 1809from 10.0.0 before 10.0.17763.2366Not stated
Microsoft Windows Server 2019from 10.0.0 before 10.0.17763.2366Not stated
Microsoft Windows Server 2019 (Server Core installation)from 10.0.0 before 10.0.17763.2366Not stated
Microsoft Windows 10 Version 1909from 10.0.0 before 10.0.18363.1977Not stated
Microsoft Windows 10 Version 21H1from 10.0.0 before 10.0.19043.1415Not stated
Microsoft Windows Server 2022from 10.0.0 before 10.0.20348.405Not stated
Microsoft Windows 10 Version 2004from 10.0.0 before 10.0.19041.1415Not stated
Microsoft Windows Server version 2004from 10.0.0 before 10.0.19041.1415Not stated
Microsoft Windows 10 Version 20H2from 10.0.0 before 10.0.19042.1415Not stated
Microsoft Windows Server version 20H2from 10.0.0 before 10.0.19042.1415Not stated
Microsoft Windows 11 version 21H2from 10.0.0 before 10.0.22000.376Not stated
Microsoft Windows 10 Version 21H2from 10.0.0 before 10.0.19044.1415Not stated
Microsoft Windows 10 Version 1507from 10.0.0 before 10.0.10240.19145Not stated
Microsoft Windows 10 Version 1607from 10.0.0 before 10.0.14393.4825Not stated
Microsoft Windows Server 2016from 10.0.0 before 10.0.14393.4825Not stated
Microsoft Windows Server 2016 (Server Core installation)from 10.0.0 before 10.0.14393.4825Not stated
Microsoft Windows 7from 6.1.0 before 6.1.7601.25796Not stated
Microsoft Windows 7 Service Pack 1from 6.1.0 before 6.1.7601.25796Not stated
Microsoft Windows 8.1from 6.3.0 before 6.3.9600.20207Not stated
Microsoft Windows Server 2008 Service Pack 2from 6.0.0 before 6.0.6003.21309Not stated

8 more products are listed in the CVE record.

Version ranges exactly as the CVE record states them. “Before X” means X is the first fixed version.

Exploit Observer also maps it to: microsoft windows_10_1507, microsoft windows_10_1607, microsoft windows_10_1809, microsoft windows_10_1909, microsoft windows_10_2004, microsoft windows_10_20h2, microsoft windows_10_21h1, microsoft windows_10_21h2, microsoft windows_11_21h2, microsoft windows_7.

How to fix it

Fixed versions stated in the CVE record: 10.0.17763.2366, 10.0.18363.1977, 10.0.19043.1415, 10.0.20348.405, 10.0.19041.1415, 10.0.19042.1415, 10.0.22000.376, 10.0.19044.1415, 10.0.10240.19145, 10.0.14393.4825, 6.1.7601.25796, 6.3.9600.20207 and others.

CISA required action: Apply mitigations per vendor instructions, follow applicable BOD 22-01 guidance for cloud services, or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable.

Vendor guidance:

How to detect it

This bug needs local access to exploit. VEDAS signatures cover remotely exploitable bugs for now, so there is no network rule or remote check for it. Patch it and watch your endpoint telemetry for unusual local activity.

References

Government sources

Other references

Other databases

Where this comes from

This advisory is generated automatically by VEDAS from: CVE.org record, CISA KEV, cve-scores (EPSS and VEDAS), Exploit Observer. Text in quotes is reproduced from the source; everything else is a fixed template filled with source fields. Nothing here is written by a language model. Check the vendor advisory before acting, and read how VEDAS and Exploit Observer work, and their limits.