CVE-2024-27834: Apple Safari vulnerability
Advisory generated from the CVE record, CISA, Exploit Observer and VEDAS: what it is, whether it is exploited, who is affected, and how to fix and detect it.
Generated by VEDAS. Scores as of 2026-11-04 15:41 UTC. Rebuilt every few hours from cve-scores, CISA KEV and vedas-signatures. How this works and its limits.
What it is
The issue was addressed with improved checks. This issue is fixed in Safari 17.5, iOS 16.7.8 and iPadOS 16.7.8, iOS 17.5 and iPadOS 17.5, macOS Sonoma 14.5, tvOS 17.5, watchOS 10.5. An attacker with arbitrary read and write capability may be able to bypass Pointer Authentication.
Description quoted from the CVE record (assigned by apple, published 2024-05-13).
Weakness: CWE-287 Improper Authentication
How it can be exploited
Exploitable with local access with low attack complexity needing low privileges and no user interaction. Impact: confidentiality none, integrity high, availability none. CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:N/I:H/A:N
CISA assessment (SSVC): CISA has no evidence of exploitation. Automatable: yes. Technical impact: total.
Public exploit evidence (Exploit Observer)
Exploit Observer found 2 research write-ups naming this CVE.
See all 11 references on Exploit Observer
Live scores
- EPSS
- 0.006
low predicted chance of attack - VEDAS
- 0.984
strong exploit evidence - On CISA KEV
- Not listed
- Detection rule
- None yet
Who is affected
| Product | Affected | Not affected |
|---|---|---|
| Apple Safari | before 17.5 | Not stated |
| Apple iOS and iPadOS | before 16.7.8 before 17.5 | Not stated |
| Apple macOS | before 14.5 | Not stated |
| Apple tvOS | before 17.5 | Not stated |
| Apple watchOS | before 10.5 | Not stated |
Version ranges exactly as the CVE record states them. “Before X” means X is the first fixed version.
How to fix it
Fixed versions stated in the CVE record: 17.5, 16.7.8, 14.5, 10.5.
How to detect it
There is no open VEDAS detection rule for this bug yet. It is listed on the detection gaps page if CISA has confirmed attacks.
Advisories on this CVE
- APT29 watering hole campaign serves n-day iOS and Android exploits via hacked sites and Plerdy (full advisory)
References
Other references
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/120896
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/120898
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/120901
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/120902
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/120903
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/120905
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT214101 (x_transferred)
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT214106 (x_transferred)
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT214104 (x_transferred)
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT214103 (x_transferred)
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT214102 (x_transferred)
- http://seclists.org/fulldisclosure/2024/May/17 (x_transferred)
11 more
- http://www.openwall.com/lists/oss-security/2024/05/21/1 (x_transferred)
- http://seclists.org/fulldisclosure/2024/May/10 (x_transferred)
- http://seclists.org/fulldisclosure/2024/May/9 (x_transferred)
- http://seclists.org/fulldisclosure/2024/May/12 (x_transferred)
- http://seclists.org/fulldisclosure/2024/May/16 (x_transferred)
- https://lists.fedoraproject.org/archives/list/package-announce@lists.fedoraproject.org/message/WKIXADCW3O4R2OOSDZGPU55XQFE6NA3M/ (x_transferred)
- https://lists.fedoraproject.org/archives/list/package-announce@lists.fedoraproject.org/message/ADCLQW54XN37VJZNYD3UKCYATJFIMYXG/ (x_transferred)
- https://support.apple.com/kb/HT214106
- https://support.apple.com/kb/HT214104
- https://support.apple.com/kb/HT214102
- https://support.apple.com/kb/HT214100
Other databases
Where this comes from
This advisory is generated automatically by VEDAS from: CVE.org record, cve-scores (EPSS and VEDAS), Exploit Observer. Text in quotes is reproduced from the source; everything else is a fixed template filled with source fields. Nothing here is written by a language model. Check the vendor advisory before acting, and read how VEDAS and Exploit Observer work, and their limits.