CVE-2024-6047: GeoVision Devices OS Command Injection Vulnerability
Advisory generated from the CVE record, CISA, Exploit Observer and VEDAS: what it is, whether it is exploited, who is affected, and how to fix and detect it.
Generated by VEDAS. Scores as of 2026-11-01 19:19 UTC. Rebuilt every few hours from cve-scores, CISA KEV and vedas-signatures. How this works and its limits.
What it is
Certain EOL GeoVision devices fail to properly filter user input for the specific functionality. Unauthenticated remote attackers can exploit this vulnerability to inject and execute arbitrary system commands on the device.
Description quoted from the CVE record (assigned by twcert, published 2024-06-17).
Weakness: CWE-78 Improper Neutralization of Special Elements used in an OS Command (‘OS Command Injection’)
How it can be exploited
Exploitable over the network with low attack complexity needing no privileges and no user interaction. Impact: confidentiality high, integrity high, availability high. CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H
CISA assessment (SSVC): CISA assesses exploitation as active. Automatable: yes. Technical impact: total.
- On CISA KEV since
- 2025-05-07
- US federal deadline
- 2025-05-28
- Ransomware use
- Not known
Public exploit evidence (Exploit Observer)
Also known as: BDU:2024-05581, CNNVD-202406-1898, EUVD-2024-47205, GHSA-w8wf-rhcx-wvhg
Exploit Observer has no public exploit code that names this CVE or one of its aliases.
Vulnerability databases and vendor advisories (5)
Catalogue entries, not exploit evidence.
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://euvd.enisa.europa.eu/enisa/EUVD-2024-47205
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://github.com/advisories/GHSA-w8wf-rhcx-wvhg
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2024-6047
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://www.cisa.gov/known-exploited-vulnerabilities-catalog?field_cve=CVE-2024-6047
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://www.cnnvd.org.cn/home/globalSearch?keyword=CNNVD-202406-1898
108 more references returned by Exploit Observer did not name this CVE or an alias, so they are left out.
VEDAS data as of 2026-11-01T17:12 UTC; fetched 2026-11-02.
Live scores
- EPSS
- 0.101
likely to be attacked soon - VEDAS
- 0.711
some exploit evidence - On CISA KEV
- Yes, since 2025-05-07
- Detection rule
- None yet
Thin horizontal line: the “likely” (EPSS 0.10) or “strong” (VEDAS 0.90) threshold. Shaded “no data” areas are periods when cve-scores did not publish. The vertical line is the day CISA added it to its exploited list.
Who is affected
| Product | Affected | Not affected |
|---|---|---|
| GeoVision GV_DSP_LPR_V2 | version all | Not stated |
| GeoVision GV_IPCAMD_GV_BX1500 | version all | Not stated |
| GeoVision GV_IPCAMD_GV_CB220 | version all | Not stated |
| GeoVision GV_IPCAMD_GV_EBL1100 | version all | Not stated |
| GeoVision GV_IPCAMD_GV_EFD1100 | version all | Not stated |
| GeoVision GV_IPCAMD_GV_FD2410 | version all | Not stated |
| GeoVision GV_IPCAMD_GV_FD3400 | version all | Not stated |
| GeoVision GV_IPCAMD_GV_FE3401 | version all | Not stated |
| GeoVision GV_IPCAMD_GV_FE420 | version all | Not stated |
| GeoVision GV-VS14_VS14 | version all | Not stated |
| GeoVision GV_VS03 | version all | Not stated |
| GeoVision GV_VS2410 | version all | Not stated |
| GeoVision GV_VS28XX | version all | Not stated |
| GeoVision GV_VS216XX | version all | Not stated |
| GeoVision GV VS04A | version all | Not stated |
| GeoVision GV VS04H | version all | Not stated |
| GeoVision GVLX 4 V2 | version all | Not stated |
| GeoVision GVLX 4 V3 | version all | Not stated |
| GeoVision GV_IPCAMD_GV_BX130 | version all | Not stated |
| GeoVision GV_GM8186_VS14 | version all | Not stated |
Version ranges exactly as the CVE record states them. “Before X” means X is the first fixed version.
Exploit Observer also maps it to: geovision gv-bx130_firmware, geovision gv-bx1500, geovision gv-bx1500_firmware, geovision gv-cb220, geovision gv-cb220_firmware, geovision gv-dsp_lpr, geovision gv-dsp_lpr_firmware, geovision gv-dsp_lpr_v2, geovision gv-ebl1100, geovision gv-ebl1100_firmware.
How to fix it
CISA required action: Apply mitigations per vendor instructions, follow applicable BOD 22-01 guidance for cloud services, or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable.
Vendor guidance:
- https://dlcdn.geovision.com.tw/TechNotice/CyberSecurity/Security_Advisory_IP_Device_2024-11.pdf
- https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2024-6047
How to detect it
There is no open VEDAS detection rule for this bug yet. It is listed on the detection gaps page if CISA has confirmed attacks.
References
Exploits and technical analysis
- https://www.twcert.org.tw/tw/cp-132-7883-f5635-1.html (third-party-advisory)
- https://www.twcert.org.tw/en/cp-139-7884-c5a8b-2.html (third-party-advisory)
Government sources
- https://www.cisa.gov/known-exploited-vulnerabilities-catalog?field_cve=CVE-2024-6047 (government-resource)
Other references
Other databases
Where this comes from
This advisory is generated automatically by VEDAS from: CVE.org record, CISA KEV, cve-scores (EPSS and VEDAS), Exploit Observer. Text in quotes is reproduced from the source; everything else is a fixed template filled with source fields. Nothing here is written by a language model. Check the vendor advisory before acting, and read how VEDAS and Exploit Observer work, and their limits.