CVE-2025-24085: Apple Multiple Products Use-After-Free Vulnerability

Advisory generated from the CVE record, CISA, Exploit Observer and VEDAS: what it is, whether it is exploited, who is affected, and how to fix and detect it.

Generated by VEDAS. Scores as of 2026-11-01 19:19 UTC. Rebuilt every few hours from cve-scores, CISA KEV and vedas-signatures. How this works and its limits.

What it is

A use after free issue was addressed with improved memory management. This issue is fixed in iOS 18.3 and iPadOS 18.3, iPadOS 17.7.6, macOS Sequoia 15.3, macOS Sonoma 14.7.5, macOS Ventura 13.7.5, tvOS 18.3, visionOS 2.3, watchOS 11.3. A malicious application may be able to elevate privileges. Apple is aware of a report that this issue may have been actively exploited against versions of iOS before iOS 17.2.

Description quoted from the CVE record (assigned by apple, published 2025-01-27).

Weakness: CWE-416 Use After Free

How it can be exploited

Exploitable over the network with low attack complexity needing no privileges and no user interaction. Impact: confidentiality high, integrity high, availability high. CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:C/C:H/I:H/A:H

CISA assessment (SSVC): CISA assesses exploitation as active. Automatable: yes. Technical impact: total.

On CISA KEV since
2025-01-29
US federal deadline
2025-02-19
Ransomware use
Not known

Public exploit evidence (Exploit Observer)

Also known as: BDU:2025-00858, CNNVD-202501-3841, CNVD-2025-07885, EDB-52316, EUVD-2025-3607, GHSA-7h23-57pg-3hwc

VEDAS cluster: VEDAS:ASHADRAGON

Exploit Observer links 7 pieces of public exploit code or detection modules that name this CVE or one of its aliases.

Exploit code and modules (7)

Code that names this CVE. A repository can be a working exploit, a scanner, a fake or malware; read it before running anything.

Research and write-ups (2)

Vulnerability databases and vendor advisories (7)

Catalogue entries, not exploit evidence.

120 more references returned by Exploit Observer did not name this CVE or an alias, so they are left out.

VEDAS data as of 2026-11-01T17:12 UTC; fetched 2026-11-02.

Live scores

EPSS
0.175
likely to be attacked soon
VEDAS
0.973
strong exploit evidence
On CISA KEV
Yes, since 2025-01-29
Detection rule
None yet
EPSS (chance of attack)
10No cve-scores data 2026-02-22 to 2026-08-08no data0.1CVE-2025-24085 EPSS over time2025-042026-11-01
VEDAS (exploit evidence)
10No cve-scores data 2026-02-22 to 2026-08-08no data0.9CVE-2025-24085 VEDAS over time2025-042026-11-01

Thin horizontal line: the “likely” (EPSS 0.10) or “strong” (VEDAS 0.90) threshold. Shaded “no data” areas are periods when cve-scores did not publish.

Who is affected

ProductAffectedNot affected
Apple iOS and iPadOSbefore 18.3Not stated
Apple iPadOSbefore 17.7.6Not stated
Apple macOSbefore 13.7.5
before 14.7.5
before 15.3
Not stated
Apple tvOSbefore 18.3Not stated
Apple visionOSbefore 2.3Not stated
Apple watchOSbefore 11.3Not stated

Version ranges exactly as the CVE record states them. “Before X” means X is the first fixed version.

Exploit Observer also maps it to: apple ipados, apple iphone_os, apple macos, apple tvos, apple visionos, apple watchos.

How to fix it

Fixed versions stated in the CVE record: 18.3, 17.7.6, 13.7.5, 14.7.5, 15.3, 2.3, 11.3.

CISA required action: Apply mitigations per vendor instructions or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable.

Vendor guidance:

How to detect it

There is no open VEDAS detection rule for this bug yet. It is listed on the detection gaps page if CISA has confirmed attacks.

Advisories on this CVE

References

Government sources

Other references

10 more

Other databases

Where this comes from

This advisory is generated automatically by VEDAS from: CVE.org record, CISA KEV, cve-scores (EPSS and VEDAS), Exploit Observer. Text in quotes is reproduced from the source; everything else is a fixed template filled with source fields. Nothing here is written by a language model. Check the vendor advisory before acting, and read how VEDAS and Exploit Observer work, and their limits.