CVE-2026-20700: Apple Multiple Buffer Overflow Vulnerability
Advisory generated from the CVE record, CISA, Exploit Observer and VEDAS: what it is, whether it is exploited, who is affected, and how to fix and detect it.
Generated by VEDAS. Scores as of 2026-11-01 19:19 UTC. Rebuilt every few hours from cve-scores, CISA KEV and vedas-signatures. How this works and its limits.
What it is
A memory corruption issue was addressed with improved state management. This issue is fixed in iOS 26.3 and iPadOS 26.3, macOS Tahoe 26.3, tvOS 26.3, visionOS 26.3, watchOS 26.3. An attacker with memory write capability may be able to execute arbitrary code. Apple is aware of a report that this issue may have been exploited in an extremely sophisticated attack against specific targeted individuals on versions of iOS before iOS 26. CVE-2025-14174 and CVE-2025-43529 were also issued in response to this report.
Description quoted from the CVE record (assigned by apple, published 2026-02-11).
Weakness: CWE-119 Improper Restriction of Operations within the Bounds of a Memory Buffer
How it can be exploited
Exploitable with local access with low attack complexity needing low privileges and no user interaction. Impact: confidentiality high, integrity high, availability high. CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H
CISA assessment (SSVC): CISA assesses exploitation as active. Automatable: no. Technical impact: total.
- On CISA KEV since
- 2026-02-12
- US federal deadline
- 2026-03-05
- Ransomware use
- Not known
Public exploit evidence (Exploit Observer)
Also known as: BDU:2026-04648, CNVD-2026-14497, EUVD-2026-6189, GHSA-j5x8-2r52-c3ff
VEDAS cluster: VEDAS:GATEWAYLEOPARD
Exploit Observer links 5 pieces of public exploit code or detection modules that name this CVE or one of its aliases.
Exploit code and modules (5)
Code that names this CVE. A repository can be a working exploit, a scanner, a fake or malware; read it before running anything.
- Code repository: https://github.com/bytehazard/cve-2026-20700
- Code repository: https://github.com/kimblehardwoods/cve-2026-20700
- Code repository: https://github.com/notthemystery/cve-2026-20700-poc-that-ll-never-work
- Code repository: https://github.com/r3n3r0/cve-2026-20700
- Code repository: https://github.com/sundenovak/cve-2026-20700-an-analysis-wip
Research and write-ups (2)
- Research or write-up: https://socprime.com/blog/cve-2026-20700-vulnerability
- Research or write-up: https://thebreach.news/posts/apple-dyld-zero-day-cve-2026-20700
Vulnerability databases and vendor advisories (5)
Catalogue entries, not exploit evidence.
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://euvd.enisa.europa.eu/enisa/EUVD-2026-6189
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://github.com/advisories/GHSA-j5x8-2r52-c3ff
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2026-20700
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://www.cisa.gov/known-exploited-vulnerabilities-catalog?field_cve=CVE-2026-20700
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://www.cnvd.org.cn/flaw/show/CNVD-2026-14497
41 more references returned by Exploit Observer did not name this CVE or an alias, so they are left out.
VEDAS data as of 2026-11-01T17:12 UTC; fetched 2026-11-02.
Live scores
- EPSS
- 0.017
some chance of attack soon - VEDAS
- 0.974
strong exploit evidence - On CISA KEV
- Yes, since 2026-02-12
- Detection rule
- Out of scope (local)
Thin horizontal line: the “likely” (EPSS 0.10) or “strong” (VEDAS 0.90) threshold. Shaded “no data” areas are periods when cve-scores did not publish.
Who is affected
| Product | Affected | Not affected |
|---|---|---|
| Apple iOS and iPadOS | before 26.3 | Not stated |
| Apple macOS | before 26.3 | Not stated |
| Apple tvOS | before 26.3 | Not stated |
| Apple visionOS | before 26.3 | Not stated |
| Apple watchOS | before 26.3 | Not stated |
Version ranges exactly as the CVE record states them. “Before X” means X is the first fixed version.
Exploit Observer also maps it to: apple ipados, apple iphone_os, apple macos, apple tvos, apple visionos, apple watchos, apple_inc. ios, apple_inc. ipados, apple_inc. macos, apple_inc. tvos.
How to fix it
Fixed versions stated in the CVE record: 26.3.
CISA required action: Apply mitigations per vendor instructions, follow applicable BOD 22-01 guidance for cloud services, or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable.
Vendor guidance:
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/126346
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/126348
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/126351
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/126352
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/126353
- https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2026-20700
How to detect it
This bug needs local access to exploit. VEDAS signatures cover remotely exploitable bugs for now, so there is no network rule or remote check for it. Patch it and watch your endpoint telemetry for unusual local activity.
Advisories on this CVE
- Apple 2026 zero-days (February 2026)
References
Government sources
- https://www.cisa.gov/known-exploited-vulnerabilities-catalog?field_cve=CVE-2026-20700 (government-resource)
Other references
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/126346
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/126348
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/126351
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/126352
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/126353
Other databases
Where this comes from
This advisory is generated automatically by VEDAS from: CVE.org record, CISA KEV, cve-scores (EPSS and VEDAS), Exploit Observer. Text in quotes is reproduced from the source; everything else is a fixed template filled with source fields. Nothing here is written by a language model. Check the vendor advisory before acting, and read how VEDAS and Exploit Observer work, and their limits.