CVE-2026-22769: Dell RecoverPoint for Virtual Machines (RP4VMs) Use of Hard-coded Credentials Vulnerability
Advisory generated from the CVE record, CISA, Exploit Observer and VEDAS: what it is, whether it is exploited, who is affected, and how to fix and detect it.
Generated by VEDAS. Scores as of 2026-11-01 19:19 UTC. Rebuilt every few hours from cve-scores, CISA KEV and vedas-signatures. How this works and its limits.
What it is
Dell RecoverPoint for Virtual Machines, versions prior to 6.0.3.1 HF1, contain a hardcoded credential vulnerability. This is considered critical as an unauthenticated remote attacker with knowledge of the hardcoded credential could potentially exploit this vulnerability leading to unauthorized access to the underlying operating system and root-level persistence. Dell recommends that customers upgrade or apply one of the remediations as soon as possible.
Description quoted from the CVE record (assigned by dell, published 2026-02-17).
Weakness: CWE-798: Use of Hard-coded Credentials
How it can be exploited
Exploitable over the network with low attack complexity needing no privileges and no user interaction. Impact: confidentiality high, integrity high, availability high. CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:C/C:H/I:H/A:H
CISA assessment (SSVC): CISA assesses exploitation as active. Automatable: yes. Technical impact: total.
- On CISA KEV since
- 2026-02-18
- US federal deadline
- 2026-02-21
- Ransomware use
- Not known
Public exploit evidence (Exploit Observer)
Also known as: BDU:2026-01883, EUVD-2026-7966, GHSA-c56r-fcf4-6rp2
Exploit Observer has no public exploit code that names this CVE or one of its aliases.
Research and write-ups (3)
- Research or write-up: https://fixthecve.com/cve/CVE-2026-22769
- Research or write-up: https://socprime.com/blog/cve-2026-22769-vulnerability
- Research or write-up: https://therealistjuggernaut.com/2026/02/18/cve-2026-22769-dell-recoverpoint-zero-day-triggers-federal-patch-order-amid-active-state-backed-exploitation
Vulnerability databases and vendor advisories (4)
Catalogue entries, not exploit evidence.
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://euvd.enisa.europa.eu/enisa/EUVD-2026-7966
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://github.com/advisories/GHSA-c56r-fcf4-6rp2
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2026-22769
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://www.cisa.gov/known-exploited-vulnerabilities-catalog?field_cve=CVE-2026-22769
14 more references returned by Exploit Observer did not name this CVE or an alias, so they are left out.
VEDAS data as of 2026-11-01T17:12 UTC; fetched 2026-11-02.
Live scores
- EPSS
- 0.135
likely to be attacked soon - VEDAS
- 0.539
some exploit evidence - On CISA KEV
- Yes, since 2026-02-18
- Detection rule
- None yet
Thin horizontal line: the “likely” (EPSS 0.10) or “strong” (VEDAS 0.90) threshold. Shaded “no data” areas are periods when cve-scores did not publish.
Who is affected
| Product | Affected | Not affected |
|---|---|---|
| Dell RecoverPoint for Virtual Machines | from 5.3 SP4 P1 before 6.0.3.1 HF1 | Not stated |
| Dell RecoverPoint for Virtual Machines | from 6.0, 6.0 SP1, 6.0 SP1 P1, 6.0 SP1 P2, 6.0 SP2, 6.0 SP2 P1, 6.0 SP3, and 6.0 SP3 P1 before 6.0.3.1 HF1 | Not stated |
Version ranges exactly as the CVE record states them. “Before X” means X is the first fixed version.
Exploit Observer also maps it to: dell recoverpoint_for_virtual_machines, dell_technologies recoverpoint.
How to fix it
Fixed versions stated in the CVE record: 6.0.3.1 HF1.
CISA required action: Apply mitigations per vendor instructions, follow applicable BOD 22-01 guidance for cloud services, or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable.
Vendor guidance:
- https://www.dell.com/support/kbdoc/en-us/000426773/dsa-2026-079 (vendor-advisory)
How to detect it
There is no open VEDAS detection rule for this bug yet. It is listed on the detection gaps page if CISA has confirmed attacks.
References
Vendor advisories and patches
- https://www.dell.com/support/kbdoc/en-us/000426773/dsa-2026-079 (vendor-advisory)
Exploits and technical analysis
- https://cloud.google.com/blog/topics/threat-intelligence/unc6201-exploiting-dell-recoverpoint-zero-day (third-party-advisory)
Government sources
- https://www.cisa.gov/known-exploited-vulnerabilities-catalog?field_cve=CVE-2026-22769 (government-resource)
Other databases
Where this comes from
This advisory is generated automatically by VEDAS from: CVE.org record, CISA KEV, cve-scores (EPSS and VEDAS), Exploit Observer. Text in quotes is reproduced from the source; everything else is a fixed template filled with source fields. Nothing here is written by a language model. Check the vendor advisory before acting, and read how VEDAS and Exploit Observer work, and their limits.