CVE-2026-80229: OpenSSL provider use-after-free
Advisory generated from the CVE record, CISA, Exploit Observer and VEDAS: what it is, whether it is exploited, who is affected, and how to fix and detect it.
Generated by VEDAS. Scores as of 2026-11-04 15:41 UTC. Rebuilt every few hours from cve-scores, CISA KEV and vedas-signatures. How this works and its limits.
What it is
When performing transfers via libcurl’s multi interface, pooled TLS connections can outlive their originating easy handles. In OpenSSL 3 provider configurations, libcurl attaches an allocated library context to the easy handle’s state and passes it to OpenSSL without acquiring an ownership reference; destroying the easy handle prematurely frees this context while the active connection retains a dangling pointer, leading to a heap-use-after-free upon subsequent I/O or post-handshake operations.
Description quoted from the CVE record (assigned by curl, published 2026-09-06).
Weakness: Use After Free; CWE-416 Use After Free
How it can be exploited
Exploitable over the network with low attack complexity needing no privileges and no user interaction. Impact: confidentiality none, integrity none, availability high. CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:N/I:N/A:H
CISA assessment (SSVC): CISA has no evidence of exploitation. Automatable: yes. Technical impact: partial.
Public exploit evidence (Exploit Observer)
Exploit Observer found 2 research write-ups naming this CVE.
See all 14 references on Exploit Observer
Live scores
- EPSS
- 0.006
low predicted chance of attack - VEDAS
- 0.987
strong exploit evidence - On CISA KEV
- Not listed
- Detection rule
- No public rule yet
Who is affected
| Product | Affected | Not affected |
|---|---|---|
| curl | from 8.14.0 before 8.14.2 from 8.15.0 before 8.16.1 from 8.17.0 before 8.20.1 from 8.21.0 before 8.22.0 | Not stated |
| curl | from f2ce6c46b9dc before 7ea37abc6ac0 (git commit) | Not stated |
| curl | version 8.21.0 version 8.20.0 version 8.19.0 version 8.18.0 version 8.17.0 version 8.16.0 version 8.15.0 version 8.14.1 and 1 more ranges | Not stated |
Version ranges exactly as the CVE record states them. “Before X” means X is the first fixed version.
How to fix it
Fixed versions stated in the CVE record: 8.14.2, 8.16.1, 8.20.1, 8.22.0.
How to detect it
There is no open VEDAS detection rule for this bug yet. It is listed on the detection gaps page if CISA has confirmed attacks.
References
Other references
- https://curl.se/docs/CVE-2026-80229.json
- https://curl.se/docs/CVE-2026-80229.html
- https://hackerone.com/reports/3969255
Other databases
Where this comes from
This advisory is generated automatically by VEDAS from: CVE.org record, cve-scores (EPSS and VEDAS), Exploit Observer. Text in quotes is reproduced from the source; everything else is a fixed template filled with source fields. Nothing here is written by a language model. Check the vendor advisory before acting, and read how VEDAS and Exploit Observer work, and their limits.